The Funkmeister´s Favourite

This is a bike which I like very much. I have not had it for very long, maybe three months, but I have ridden it a lot, 35 or 40 miles today alone, and it is nice and agile around town, for which purpose I built it. I don´t like saying it´s rusty, has worn or abused parts, I rather prefer thinking it has an anti-theft coating. The white top tube has some house paint on it, the part where´s there no paint at all is where the wood block method was used to repair a dent. So here´s a bike which looks as if it came right off the scrap heap, but it is well kept inside.

My EG Bates Rat Bike

The EG Bates frame is what people would call a Road-Path setup; track angles, track rear dropouts, track widths, but added are braze ons for mudguards and a rear bridge for a brake as well as a drilled fork crown. The frame number, repeated on the fork column, is 2728 – nice and easy to remember. The frame is a tad too small for me at 64.5 cms, but I won´t cover any long distances on it.

Potential For A Nice Restoration If It Survives Its Current Role

One more feature I like about the bike, actually the reason I built it, is the Sturmey SthreeX. While I refuse to spell the name the way it´s spelt on the hub (I think it´s just childish, no idea who thought that up), I just love the hub itself. Set up as it is with third/direct as the default setting it gives two nicely spaced lower gears for our somewhat hilly area as well as having very little friction losses in the gear I use most. Having a fixed hub with click pedals in town is a boon.

The Reason For This Bike

What else is there to write about? All the bits came from my boxes, so apart from the money I paid Hilary Stone for the frame there was no outlay, excepting of course the rear hub. That´s the reason I used three different sorts of spokes in the rear wheel. Most of the bits are pretty bad (cf. front mudguard), and many have only survived because bike parts wise I hate throwing anything out. The wonderful extension/handlebar combo was unearthed, literally, in a French scrapyard some years ago.

Watch The Front Mudguard – Someone Must Have Had Problems With His Dynamo Once

If You Were A Thief Would You Bother? – See.

5 Comments

  1. Skip Montanaro
    Posted January 29, 2012 at 3:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    “… the part where´s there no paint at all is where the wood block method was used to repair a dent.”

    Can you describe that method for me? I have a Trek with a dent in the seat tube I’d like to repair.

    Thx,

    Skip

    • Posted January 29, 2012 at 6:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Skip,
      I didn´t apply the method myself; Hilary Stone did before selling the frame to me.
      It was described on CR once, I remember, and I think it works with two wood blocks which enclose the tube part in question. The inner dia of the block is just a tad smaller than the outer dia of the tube, and then you rotate the blocks around the tube pressing them together.
      I think.
      Regards, Toni.

      P.S.: YMMV.

  2. Posted January 29, 2012 at 8:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi toni thanks for the good comments,regards andrew (ellis-briggs)

  3. Christine Ashworth
    Posted February 1, 2012 at 6:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I loved reading your blog Toni, but thought there might have been a write up and picture of your/mine Johnny Berry

    Christine

    • Posted February 1, 2012 at 8:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks, Christine, there will be, very soon.
      There is a great number of photos which I used to have on wooljersey and I´m going through them one ofter the other. The problem was that wooljersey stopped working without a warning and so much of the info was lost. I need to piece it back together which takes some time.

Leave a Reply

