Cutie

XHdownttransf       XHLaQtransf

XHheadb

Together with the chrome Thanet (SL1262) I bought the frame of this sweet little bike. It seems to be one of the very few surviving Holdsworth LaQuelda ladies frames in original paintwork. That said it must be noted that the former owner clearcoated the whole thing, and sadly in a paint which is rapidly yellowing. Look at the rear dropout, for example, which is denuded of paint and so shows the colour of the clearcoat:

XHreardoChaterIt should be much brighter, of course.

The bike still has no handlebar tape – sigh. The bend of the ATAX bars, which are brazed into the extension, looks great, though.

XHhbarsbend XHhandlebars

The alloy mudguards, much younger than the frame, sport an “H” each at the easily accessible ends, but my guess is that this really stands for Hercules. They look nice anyway. Sometimes I just can´t resist a bad joke.

XHmudgH

In the same vein: I know that the GB brakes only appeared in 1948, and the handlebars inclusive of French brake levers came off a wrecked thirties Ravat tandem, but there you go.

The Sturmey FC wheelset has a special story, too.

XHFC

A year or two after getting the frame in 1997, my family and I visited our old haunt in the UK, Greater Manchester. Cyril Bardsley still had his shop then, and in I went and asked for a pair of wheels, steel Dunlops rims, FC hub, 26 x 1 1/4, if possible with the correct trigger. I must have been quite naive then, or must have had a good opinion of British bike shops, or maybe you could call it somewhat belated beginners luck, but I can remember Mr Bardsley not batting an eyelid, vanishing in the workshop, and returning just with what I had asked for. Sorry to say I can´t remember the price, I think it was 60 quid, but the wheelset came with a spare toggle chain of the quick release snap-in-two variety.

XHtyresize

I also remember the shop walls being decorated ceiling high with race photos and what looked like autograph cards to me. I guess one of them must have been by Reg Harris.

Back to the frame, though.

XHReynpumppNote how the transfer covers part of the lining. No idea what this means.

Like all LaQueldas, this one is of lugless construction.

XHbbXHtt:st XHSeatclThe long pointy seat stay top is typical of many bikes of this era. And don´t I just love the double box lining everywhere.

XHdoubleboxlThe brake bridge is curved gracefully:

XHbrakebrThe fork is of a standard construction, save that the blades are round.

XHforkcr XHfrontdoXHroundforkbl

5 Comments

  1. noel disbury
    Posted August 6, 2014 at 1:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi, Just stumbled across your site when I googled Cyril Bardsley. he is my wife’s great uncle. I am currently restoring 2 of his bikes.

    • Posted August 7, 2014 at 6:35 am | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Noel,
      interesting to hear about your wife´s great uncle. Having moved away from the area about 30 years ago I´m asking myself what became of his shop.

  2. Posted January 5, 2015 at 7:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The H on the mudguards is for Hobbs own mudguards. See the article http://www.classiclightweights.co.uk/components/lytaloy-components.html

    • Posted January 6, 2015 at 8:47 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks, Philip, very useful info.
      There has been a small thread on this question on CR – will you let them know, please?

Leave a Reply

