74 Cent Fleamarket Find

I thought it was time to report on my latest cycle related find.

GazelleTrackfull

When I bought the record I thought at once that this was a good opener for a post on my Gazelle track iron.

SchlagerrundeBahnrad

You didn´t think I got the Gazelle for 74 Cents? Oops, sorry. The record dates from about the same time as my bike, but contrary to the cycles depicted on the cover, my Gazelle frame has never seen a track, or any use, for that matter, in its life. It only has some shop wear, like a paint chip on the top tube, for instance.

The bike really is a bog standard track frame fom the seventies, with rather simple lugs, clean brazing, but uninspired in general. I like it because it hung in the shop window of my home town cycle dealer when I was a boy. It came to me via a detour, but still. Here´s some snaps.

GazelleTrackhead

It has the typical Gazelle headbadge which was used until a couple of years ago. Screen printed alloy, but distinctive.

GazelleTracktt

There´s a “Champion” transfer on the top tube. I need to look into which level of quality it was. Gazelle bikes are plentiful in our nick of the woods, even nice ones, so one tends not to regard them as special. Not that I´d treat them with contempt, though, but it´s something you take for granted. The lower tier road bikes would sport grand names such as Tour de France or Tour de l´Avenir, then in the eighties there were AB Frames, AA and AA Special and AA Supers. Earlier there were lots of Champion Mondials, but so far I have come across no Champion. Someone will know.

I just realized that I completely forgot to write a post on one of my favourite bikes, which is another Gazelle, a ca. 1985 AA Special. Going to happen soon. And, good gracious, there´s a motor paced frame, too. Like I said, I take Gazelles for granted too much.

GazelleTrackseattube

A part of the seat tube. It´s nice for a change not to have to make excuses for scratches.

GazelleTracksaddle

I tried to find as many unused or pratically unused bits as possible when building up the bike, and contrary to what the pic shows, this saddle is new. I need to have a word with my camera.

In my quest for good Campag Record track parts I was greatly assisted by our neighbouring cycling club holding a spares sale about three years ago. Many of the stalwarts opened their vaults, and I think I could have bought it all. As it was, I concentrated on the nicer bits, and afterwards there were two cellars to browse through, too. Once in a lifetime, sort of.

GazTrackbbUnten

This crankset came from the spares sale, too. Note the price tag.

GazTrackbrakebridge

Would one call this a brake bridge? Curved, anyway. Nice.

GazTrackforkcrown

Round blade front fork. Still nicer. Low stack height track headset came with the frame.

GazTrackFrontdo

The front dropout has a raised portion on which the track nut rests, whereas…

GazTrackreardocloseup

the rear d/o is plain. Nevertheless it says “Campagnolo” on it. Note clean brazing, as much as is visible under the paintwork.

GazTrackReardo

Last pic in this post. Would I need a chain tensioner to keep the nuts from slipping on the d/os? Looks ugly, so I left them out.

4 Comments

  1. Posted January 3, 2013 at 2:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Darn! I was hoping to hear you say you’d picked this bike up for 74 cents!

    My Gazelle AA Champion Mondial Special, ca. 1982, is absolutely one of my favorite road bikes. I’ve not ridden a track model, so I can’t comment. However, I’ve come to believe Gazelle is one of the truly great “undiscovered” frames.

    Mark

    • Posted January 4, 2013 at 5:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Gazelle steel frames are great, no question, but I suspect that you want to say they are undiscovered in the US. Just have a look at any Dutch village, or any Dutch influenced second hand/vintage bike sales site (marktplaats.nl). Gazelle were a major volume seller of high grade racing bikes, and second hand specimens abound in the Netherlands. I think I must have had about a dozen, all counted.

      • Posted January 4, 2013 at 10:08 pm | Permalink

        You are correct, of course – I meant that Gazelle is a relatively undiscovered frame for classic cycling enthusiasts in the States. Many are enamored of Italian bikes (but only, it seems, Colnago, Pinarello, Bianchi) and tend to overlook these terrific Dutch bikes. Their loss!

  2. Posted January 11, 2013 at 3:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Champion denotes the bike was built for the German market. Appearently there was a tramemark infringement for CM, so GAzelle just cut down the decal

Leave a Reply

