Something to look out for

While carrying out routine maintenance this afternoon I discovered that the saddle I used for more than 10.000km on my Ellis-Briggs randonneur has broken a side rod. It broke just aft the Campag two bolt seatpin cradle, similar to the one I put next to the saddle for illustration purposes.

Saddlebroken

I wonder if this is something that happens to Campag two bolt seatpins, or if it is due to chrome brittleness, or if there is some other reason? The frame assembly was very old; I bought it as part of a completely worn saddle. It is not date stamped.

Some of you will recognize that the saddle is a Colegrave, so let me add that Tony isn´t to blame at all for the problem. Firstly he did the upper, not the frame, and secondly I supplied the frame assembly myself. On the contrary I find that Tony did a great job, I just loved the saddle, the mileage shows this. The breakage is completely unconnected with his work.

So there´s one more thing to add to the list of things to check when doing maintenance on your bikes.

Leave a Reply

