Neerkant II – Penny Farthing

Here´s one more bike I was able to marvel at. Ever since I found what could easily be the remains of the oldest surviving motorpaced bicycle about 20 years ago (see my Allright post, use the search box in the top l/h corner of the screen) I have a soft spot for those weird machines. This one even has a documented race history – problem is, I forgot what it was.

Perhaps the machine´s owner could contact me and remind me. So many impressions in Neerkant, so little space on my built-in biological hard disk drive.

So just try to enjoy the photos as much as possible, despite my near complete lack of photographic prowess.

ZNGoldrfull

ZNGoldrchainstindent

Close clearances.

ZNGoldrchainwh

The chainwheel isn´t exactly what one would expect on the crank – and I doubt that this construction ever saw the track as it certainly wouldn´t have passed the scrupulous inspection by safety conscious technical marshalls taking place before many races.

ZNGoldrforkcr

ZNGoldrfthub

Dürkopp hub (I think) laced up with tied and soldered spokes.

ZNGoldrftlug

 

ZNGoldrheadb

ZNGoldrreardo

ZNGoldrrim

Leave a Reply

