A Collectors´ Item

This is a bike which I haven´t had for a very long time, couple of years, perhaps, and which I have put together with bits which I still had in my box. So I obviously haven´t ridden it and won´t ever, but I still like it for what it is, a typical British Path racer – made for both the track and for road use, featuring a rear brake bridge, drilled front fork and mudguard stay eyes. Here it is in track kit.

WfullI haven´t been able to find out much about its maker, excepting that Hilary Stone says it was round the corner from where he grew up. Also it´s not clear if Westland actually made the frame or just badged it. It is clear, though, that it´s got no helicopters in its ancestry.

WdownttransfIf one applies modern standards, it could very well be a lady´s bike, what with its small size and its colour. I think it´s not unfair to call it pretty. Here´s some more impressions.

Wbb Wbkbridge Wchainwhl

I know, it doesn´t feel quite right, but I guess it´s the correct period (the cranks have the lips inside), and I just didn´t have a Chater or BSA set.WdowntliningWext Wextfront Wforkcr WfthubdoWGB Wreado Wrim Wseatcl Wseatpin Wseattransfer Wseattubelining WsteerheadI left whatever it is on the chrome as it comes off easily but seems to have protected the plating well over the decades.

2 Comments

  1. Colin Irving
    Posted January 4, 2015 at 12:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    There was a question about Westland bikes on the CTC (UK) forum,there is some information on there which may shed a bit more light on your bike. I took the liberty of putting a link to to your article there.

    I enjoy your site, best wishes from the UK, and wishing you a Happy New Year, Colin

    http://forum.ctc.org.uk/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=30192

    • Posted January 4, 2015 at 3:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Well, Colin, that´s wonderful, thank you. I had always hoped that one day it would surface that my bike really was a re-worked helicopter, but this new info is even better.
      Have a great new year, too, and I´m glad you like my blog.

Leave a Reply

