H Williamson – or the end of it

Imagine my disappointment when I discovered that the Williamson frame is useless after all. I had been daft enough to do a lot of work on the bike before checking out the headset. What had happened I´m not sure, however, this is what´s left of the lower headrace:

DamraceIt has been worn away on the half that used to point to the front.

Damforkcolfront

And this is what the race did to the fork column…DamForkcolside DamForkcr

… and the fork crown. The column could probably be replaced, but the bad thing is that the groove in the crown is really deep and will have weakened it.

Also the race wore away the front half of the lower headlug, and this is what to my mind has killed the frame off. The front half of the lug is only paper thin now – compare it with the rear half – and a ridge has formed where the worn away metal used to be.Damlug DamLug2 My guess is that the damage must have started right when the bike was quite new – possibly a fault during fitting, or a part which had the wrong measurements, but the outcome is catastrophic. It would have been so nice to have had a 62cm frame from the thirties – at least the many good and rare parts are worth the money I paid for the bike.

If I should ever have the chance again to work on a bike with a British headclip headset, I will certainly look there first.

2 Comments

  1. Posted August 25, 2014 at 4:05 am | Permalink | Reply

    If this was my frame, I would be tempted to have a press fit internal sleeve made for the steerer tube…but I’m a framebuilder.

    • Posted August 25, 2014 at 5:44 am | Permalink | Reply

      I´m open for any suggestions as you can guess. But what about the bottom headlug? The rim is really very thin.

Leave a Reply

