A Penny What?

I hope I won´t be chastised too badly for admitting that I never liked Penny Farthings, or Ordinaries, or High Wheelers, or whatever you´d like to call them. Still, it seems I have one in my collection now:

PFrecord

And digging a bit deeper in my boxes, I found this one, too:

PFpfI like the cheeky little wren on the farthing, but the difference in size between the two coins isn´t too impressive.

However, did you know that at least in the thirties, the farthing wasn´t actually the smallest diameter coin in the UK?

PFp3pThe threepence was still smaller. So should it really have been the Penny Threepence? Sounds funny.

Now look at this:

PFflwptThere´s a coin like token which is valued at a penny, issued by the Flint Lead Works in 1813, when coinage was scarce (I was told). Not surprisingly, the token is made from lead. What looks like a deranged carnival procession are the sorry remains of the Flint Lead Works buildings, after much biting and gambling by previous owners.

PFpptThe penny token is still larger than a real penny from the thirties.

PFpt3pShould it be a Penny Token Threepence instead of a Penny Farthing? Size-wise we´re getting places, but the sound of the word doesn´t bear thinking about.

Now you know why I never really liked Ordinaries.

Leave a Reply

