Half a Post

Yes, I´m still here.

After a rather un-satisfying summer, there´s not much to report – I missed nearly all of the interesting meets and rides this year, for reasons of overwork, bad luck with double booked weekends, and also a few instances of sickness.

I feel a bit like the cyclist on this record cover:

SAM_6623

Yes, there is one. Look at the bottom left hand corner:

SAM_6624The front wheel of his bike is just visible, but he´s been relegated to the rear:

SAM_6622Turning the record over, there he is, looking none to pleased to have been left off the front cover. His bike is quite OK, equipped with what looks like Suntour gear and a Turbo saddle. And look at his Cinelli socks!

Let me add that Eros Ramazotti isn´t exactly the music I usually listen to, but the cycle on the cover affords at least some optical attraction.

As far as I´m concerned, I´m hoping for a better 2016 cycling season. Until then, and unless I can find the time and an occasion, I guess I´ll prolong my blogging break.

 

5 Comments

  1. Posted October 3, 2015 at 10:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Toni, I understand completely. After spending lots of money for a Jack Taylor frame and restoring it–including having it repainted–I have been longingly looking at it hang on our living room wall, unbuilt, for two years. Some day, some day, I will have the time and cash to build it properly….and perhaps ride it!

  2. Herman
    Posted October 4, 2015 at 6:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Cheer up. There’s plenty to see in the time coming up until 2016. Don’t break too long and think of your share of fans, for instance iin Sint Annaparochie 😀🚴🏾. Greetings Herman

  3. jsmontes1937
    Posted October 4, 2015 at 10:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Tony , I was expecting your new post. I regret that the Summer has not been as productive as in other years, but I am sure there is much you can write about German bicycles and bicycle production, topics about which we know so little and that have proven so interesting in your blog.

    Trust you will have the time and inclination.

    regards

    Sergio Montes

    • Posted October 6, 2015 at 11:41 am | Permalink | Reply

      Well, Sergio, it is funny that you should say that – I´ve always thought of myself as being more interested in foreign cycles than in domestic ones.
      Look at my favourites, the ones I had built for me, for instance: There´s a Mercian, a Hetchins and an Ellis Briggs. I would have had the tall Rickert made in exactly the same way that I bought it second hand, admitted, but then again, that´s also true for the Longstaff tandem, and that´s about as British as can be.

      But maybe, if I can find the time, I´ll learn more about German bikes, too. Inclination isn´t the issue, really.

  4. Posted October 6, 2015 at 11:34 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks, John and Herman.
    Of course there are lots of things to report on, in principle, but I´ve hardly ever had so much to do at work. And there´s Marten´s open dag to look forward to – if it takes place this year. I must ask.

Leave a Reply

